There won’t be a test on this, will there?

Prenatal classes!  We’ve started attending some through our hospital.  Infant and Child CPR, Infant Care Basics, and one on what to expect during childbirth.

Like the proactive, organized person I try to be, I looked up all the hospital’s course options back in December and arranged the whole thing.  This month, January, I had ‘prenatal class:  6:30-9 p.m.’ written down on all the correct days in my day planner, and I had a folder with a printout of the class schedules and locations ready and waiting for us when it was time to actually go to one.  Gold star for me.

On Wednesday of this week we went to our first class — CPR.  We found the classroom without any problems, and nothing unexpected happened.  We practiced CPR on some foam and rubber dummies, sat through an informative lecture, and then went back home.

Later, when I went into my folder to look up the details of the class we were signed up for on Thursday, I took a second look at the CPR class.  We had signed up for a date in February.  Not January.  And it wasn’t even the same day of the month.  I’m equally impressed that I managed to get the date so wrong, and that the hospital has so many CPR classes that we could show up on a completely random date and not suspect that anything was amiss.  The downside of this is that we missed the class we were actually supposed to be attending.  Luckily that class was part one in a four-class series, so it’s not a total loss.

Certainly all this is nothing near as bad as the “Oh no!  It’s the end of the semester and I never actually showed up for my ___ class!” dream (a dream I still have occasionally).  I’d say it’s more along the lines of, “Huh, it’s Sunday and I never did the Sunday School homework from last week.”  I never did do my homework, back when I was a kid and my family participated in church and I had to go to Sunday School.  The nice thing about Sunday School homework is, nobody’s really grading you, and nothing bad actually happens when you don’t do it.

All the same, I double- and triple-checked Thursday’s schedule before we stepped out of our apartment yesterday.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

