Errands and Activities

I took Ziggy to the vet’s office this morning to have the lump on her side checked out, and it turned out to be a harmless fatty deposit.  That was a relief.  I’m not ready to think of my four-legged walking buddy as a sickly old lady just yet.  She has gained some weight over the winter, but even before getting her up on the scales at the vet’s office I knew that from her thicker waistline.  She and I can work on getting in shape together this spring / summer after the baby is born.  Hopefully by that time the thesis will be mostly done as well.  It is one of the reasons why we haven’t been getting outside as much lately.  Our vet said everybody’s pets have been gaining weight this winter due to the cold weather, but quite honestly Boise’s cold is not very cold.  If southern Idaho’s winter got into a knock-down fight with a southeastern Wyoming winter, Idaho would lose.  Badly.  Which is one huge reason why we decided to move from Wyoming to Idaho.

One year into living here, I’m still loving Boise.  (Maybe not Idaho state politics, but that’s a different beast.)  Little by little, we’re starting to settle in here.  J and I have a couple of friends over most weekends for a game night.  Somebody cooks dinner and people bring things to snack on, like fruit and Nutella.  Most nights we role-play, but we’ve also watched a movie and done some artsy-craftsy stuff.  Yesterday I pulled out an old, unfinished painting project for the first time in a long time.  Yes, I have other things I need to do, but it feels good to be getting excited about painting again.

This last week one of the women from the local parents and kids meetup group hosted a jewelry making get-together.  I went to that, and repaired a favorite necklace that has been sitting, broken, in my jewelry box for several years.

Next week I’m going to an informational meeting being held by a local community garden group.  I’ve always liked the idea of having a vegetable patch, and since I’m not going to be doing any field work for pay this year (or maybe any year, now that there’s a baby on the way) now seems like a good time to try it.  JC will be too young to participate, but this gardening group apparently does a lot to encourage  kids to get involved as well.  If I decide I like participating in the garden this year, maybe this can become something I do with my kid as he gets bigger.  I’m certainly in favor of any activity that will encourage him to eat his vegetables — all the more so because I remember how picky and difficult I was as a child.  I haven’t forgotten the words my gram said to my mom, that my mom later said to me:  “If there’s any justice in this world, you’ll have one JUST LIKE YOU…”

This entry was posted in Life, Pets, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

