One Week Late

The baby is one week past his due date as of today, and my “he’ll be here in early May for sure” predictions are sounding more funny than ever.  My mom, sister, and niece were in town almost all week hoping to see the baby, but finally they had to drive back home to Washington.  It was frustrating and sad to see them leave and to know that they won’t be able to be around whenever JC is finally born.

At yesterday’s prenatal appointment my doctor and I talked about induction.  JC has until next Friday to come on his own, and then it’s Pitocin time.  At least Dr. K was happy when she checked my cervix yesterday; I was about 3 cm dilated and 50% effaced.  On my official due date I was only 1 cm dilated.

The feeling of it being summer vacation continues to prevail around here.  It is warm out and I’m not working, but as odd as it sounds, the feeling really became pronounced in the wake of hearing the bad news about Ziggy.  After the first shock of learning that she has cancer wore off, I began to focus more on enjoying our time together.  And the days have been good, for her and for myself:  Mornings involve a walk somewhere before it gets too warm out.  Sometimes we go to the river walk, but I usually aim for one of the local trails where I can let Zig run around off-leash.  We usually stay out for about an hour.  Then we come home, and I do some things around the yard while it is still in shade.  Afternoons are spent inside (where the air conditioning has mercifully been turned on).  I do some chores, and maybe we hang out on the couch together.  In the evening we go out for a second walk somewhere.  At night Zig and I fall asleep on the couch while J plays Minecraft on his computer.  Eventually J turns off his machine and we all head upstairs to bed.

 

This entry was posted in family, Pets, Pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Week Late

  1. missrain says:

    Hope baby comes soon!!

Leave a Reply

