Monday

It’s Monday morning and my sister will get her test results back today… maybe even a prognosis.  I’m nervous.  I want to find out what she has so it is no longer a mystery, but I don’t want to be faced with the reality of the worst case scenario, if that is indeed the problem.

I haven’t gotten as much done on the thesis this weekend as I would like.  J gave me most of Sunday to work on it, but I’m in one of those awful between-tasks bits where I’m not quite sure how to proceed.  My goal today is to formulate a question about my next move, however half-baked that question may seem, and send it in an email to my committee.

We have frost on the ground today.  Yesterday there was snow in the foothills.  We have a lovely view of the Boise foothills from our bedroom window.  I’ve never lived in a place where we had any sort of view before, and I am really enjoying it.  I spent a good portion of the afternoon with my work laptop in my lap, staring out at the drifting grey cloud formations and patches of blue sky above those distant, snow-dusted knobs.

Ugh.  I’m just waiting for something bad to happen today.  To hear bad news about my sister.  To get a ‘WTF are you doing?’ email from my advisor.  To see Ziggy take a turn for the worse.  This is going to be one of those days where I have to try really, really hard to not view the world with a distrustful eye.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

