Family Ties

I’ve lost sight of that moonlit peace I felt the other night. I’m not too surprised; the middle of the night is its own segment of existence and doesn’t associate very closely with daytime reality.

I’m sad about J right now. Not in that ‘I can’t believe she gave up on us,’ sense, though  some of that is still there, hanging around in the air like dust.

Right now I am sad because my in-laws are in town and my FIL (J’s stepdad) seems to be rejecting J because she is transgender. He’s a pastor and it’s unlikely that he will change his views. J’s mom seems more supportive but there’s a lot of complicated stuff going on, and nobody is talking about any of it. MIL and FIL are staying at my place and have been seeing J during the day. I know a lot of people would say it’s not my business anymore to worry about J. And yes, I don’t hold the same role in J’s life anymore and I understand what that means. But as somebody who has known J for a decade, I’m worried about her. She is and has been emotionally shaky for a while, and of all times, she could really use the support of a parent right now. Or some long-term connection. Not me, probably, and that’s fine. But I wish J’s mom would see that her kid needs her right now. I wish J’s stepdad could see how much hurt is caused by family rejection, and I wish he would rethink his choice to value an interpretation of a book over an actual person.

If my MIL is up before my FIL tomorrow, I may broadly hint to her that this is a time when J probably needs extra emotional support from a parent. I’m going to have to be careful in what I say because this is close to crossing the line of getting in other peoples’ business. But Jesus. What a fucking mess.

In other news, I set up an OKCupid profile this weekend. I have talked to one person (who I am absolutely not interested in dating) about through-hiking, and it was kinda cool to have a conversation that didn’t have undertones of further expectations. I saw a few profiles of other people who looked interesting, but didn’t message anybody else. The site and the concept of dating are still kinda frightening to me.

This entry was posted in family, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

