Jobbers

It’s a grey morning outside, and the trees that are draped around the windows of my apartment are starting to turn yellow. I am subbing for a preschool class this afternoon, but this morning my schedule is open. I dropped Little Man off at daycare at 7:30 and am doing some cleaning around my apartment while listening to public radio and wondering about the phenomenon that is Donald Trump.

I won’t go into my thoughts on the election. As far as teaching goes, I think it is about time to make the leap and say: Yes, this is the career path I want to pursue. This is week 4 of subbing for me, and while I have had some difficult days, I sometimes really enjoy the job, and when I am not loving it I still mostly don’t mind it. I also LOVE not sitting in front of a computer all day (which I mostly did in my last job). The schedule makes so much sense, both in terms of matching my son’s schedule while he is growing and having the ability to travel to Washington and see family more frequently. And, really, what other job will allow me time to have the kinds of big outdoor adventures I still dream of having? I do have my reservations and fears about this career field, but I feel better about it than I do about any other potential options. Lastly, and this is a novel feeling, I have been told by several teachers that I am doing a really good job for a person who has been teaching for less than a month. I don’t know what the other subs out there are like (there is no interview process for this job and the only screening is a background check) but I don’t feel like I’m doing anything special. Certainly my classroom management skills can use improvement. Still, it feels good to think that maybe this is something I could do, and do successfully.

This entry was posted in Career, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

