Thursday

Sometimes subbing is rough: The kids don’t want to behave, and I leave school feeling like I spent all day telling people who aren’t paying attention to me to be quiet. That this narrative is a common one is a little comforting, because I know other subs have also experienced hair-pulling, chaotic class days, and quite a few of them seem to go on to be regular teachers and enjoy what they do.

Whew!

My evening felt kind of off, probably partly as a result of the work day. I am hoping tomorrow is better. I’m working special ed in the morning and it’s with *small* groups of students, and that sounds much nicer than today. I have often enjoyed the small group work I’ve done thus far, and even when the kids are frustrating, it is just so much easier when there are not 20+ of them.

Time for bed… Lovely bed. I get my toddler back tomorrow evening from my ex as well, and I am really looking forward to hanging out and cuddling with him again. 2 is such a simple age in so many ways. I love that my kiddo’s worst concerns seem to be about playing trains and whether there is something in the fridge he wants but can’t get at.

 

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment